Current MPs



Select Year :


No of voters in states by year wise (Year : 1951)

About Elections

India is a centralized government, with elected officials at the national, state and local levels.

National level: Prime Minister is elected by the members of Lok Sabha, lower house of the parliament of India. General elections take place every five years. Members of Rajya Sabha, upper house of Indian parliament, are elected by elected members of the legislative assemblies of states and Electoral College for Union Territories of India.

In 2009, the elections involved an electorate of 714 Million (Larger than combined EU and US elections).

The size of the huge electorate commands that elections be conducted in a number of phases (there were 4 phases in 2004 General Elections and 5 phases in 2009 General Elections).

The Parliament of India comprises the head of state, the president of India and the two Houses which are the legislature.

The President of India is elected for a five-year term by an electoral college consisting of members of federal and state legislatures.

Lok Sabha (Currently m 545 Members) = 543 Members (5 Year Term) + 2 Members (Anglo-Indian Community)

Rajya Sabha (Council of States) = 245 members = 233 Members (6 Year Term) + 12 Members (Artists, Scientists, Businessmen and Journalists)